TYNE AMATEUR ROWING CLUB

Annual General Meeting – 9th November 2016

Held at Tyne Amateur Rowing Club, Water Row, Newburn

Minutes - draft for comment as of 27th November 2016

Present: Simon Dobson, Danny Hunter, John Goddard, Colin Percy, Liz Bray, Dennis Hunter, Richard Page, John Bell, Brian Dalkin, Oliver Clarke, Anthony Musgrave, Ian Wagstaff, Serkan Türkmen, Lindsay Miller, Rick McDonnell, George Starr, Michael Palmer, Josh Bate, Chris Barwick, Nick Ogden, Alex Leigh, Dave Higgins, Peter Storey, Guy Clack, Julian MacBride, Mark Child, Laura Clack, Marc Runkee, Andrew Pennington, Mike Pennington, Freya Williams, Jemima Sarson, Jerry Barker, Deborah Connor, Celia Pennie, Elaine Tan, Claire Hughes, Luke Dixon, Bernhard Kepplinger, Lee Dixon, Graeme Wheeler, Ken Hardy, Ian Jeffrey, Phil Robinson, Phil Kite, Alan Denton, Michael Alan Ballantyne, Neil Mennie, Antony Alan Ballantyne, Steve Barratt, Ian Boyd, Diane Wheeler, Tracy Robinson, Paul Capocci, Mick Williams, Katie Soward, Jane Tyler, Graham Tyler, Stephanie Klein, Kay White, Dorota Malczak, Becky Walton, Olivia Capocci (Junior), Jennifer Hannant, Lyn Goldsmith, Vicky Phelan, Katie Perrie, Andrew Soward, Dave Smark, David Robinson, Renske Herrema, Liz Gray, Jen Brown, Claire Pollock, Pete Hawthorn, Henry Galbraith, John Ord

1. Welcome and appointment of meeting chair

The meeting opened at 8:14pm. John Goddard was appointed meeting chair.

2. Apologies for absence

Gillian Davies, Sam Grant, Claire Smark, Brian Salisbury, Julian Thomson, Mick Reeve, Tom Hill

3. Approval of minutes of EGM 21st April 2016

The minutes to the EGM were approved. Proposed Lyn Goldsmith, seconded Chris Barwick

4. Captain's report

Dennis Hunter thanked club members, many of whom have worked especially hard for the club over the past 18 months, during which time the club has come a long way. He recognised the club's facilities, but reminded members that the club is run by volunteers and called for respect. He looked forward to more achievements in the future.

The club thanked DH for his work as captain.

5. Chairman's Report and water safety report

Simon Dobson highlighted the fact that the club is a rowing club, and that is the central focus of the club's achievements. He described the role of chairman as to produce the administration to support rowing at the club. SD reminded members that the club has grown massively, and thanked them for their efforts in transforming the club, whilst reiterating DH's call for respect. The remarks of the CEO of British Rowing, praising the club's community involvement were also recorded.

A formal report is contained within the report and accounts to be presented to the charity-commission.

SD commented that the trustees oversee water safety, and reminded members to report all incidents to British Rowing online.

6. Trustees' Report

A formal report, outlining the role and powers of the trustees was circulated as a draft paper on governance. JG summarised the role of the trustees to ensure the good-governance of the club, in compliance with the club's constitution. The trustees are the legal guardians of the club, and are responsible for the club's assets.

They support the committee, and delegate powers to it, as set out in the governance document.

Julian MacBride raised questions as to the club's long term plan. It was agreed that the committee is responsible for developing long-term strategy, overseen by the trustees. SD and Dennis Hunter noted that current strategy revolves around repayment of the club's loan and maintenance of charitable status. Tony Ballantyne commented that the money should be set aside for long-term maintenance of the club, as running costs are not yet known.

The trustees and the committee will meet and debate long-term strategy.

7. Endorsement of accounts

The club gave its thanks to Brian Salisbury for his work as treasurer.

It was noted that subscriptions have increased substantially. This allows for long-term planning. Profits from the bar and catering have also increased; thanks were given to the caterers and those who set up the bar, especially Ken Hardy.

Graeme Wheeler asked if subs cover running costs of the building. At present costs are met, however this may not be the case in the long-term.

Celia Pennie asked of there was a limit to club membership. DH stated that 2/3 of the membership must be full, rowing members, with a proportion of social membership to be no more than 1/3. SD also commented that, as a charity, the club should not limit the membership and bar entry to the sport. Additionally, a larger membership would fund more equipment. Becky Walton added that equipment shortages could be managed by using the building more effectively, rather than limiting membership.

The accounts were accepted without opposition; proposed by Lindsay Miller, seconded by Ian Wagstaff

8. Membership fees

The committee proposed to retain membership fees at the 2016 level.

Steph Klein questioned how the club ensures those using the facilities are paying members. AD suggested that membership lists should be available and Julian Macbride noted that other organisations use direct debit to ensure payment of membership fees.

9. Election of trustees, officers and committee

The only contested role was that of captain.

The trustees were named as: John Goddard (chair), Liz Bray, Simon Dobson, Ian Wagstaff, Tom Hill, Ian Stratford (co-opted), Phil Robinson (ex officio), Martin Bell, Graeme Wheeler, Mike Windle and Claire Hughes.

The procedure for the election of captain was agreed by the trustees, however it was noted that it could have been organised better. It was stated that it was not logistically viable to organise postal or proxy voting, although this may be allowed in future. It should also be noted that the trustees are volunteers, and, as such, the process should be as simple as possible.

The candidates for the captaincy presented their manifestos, and were questioned by the membership. Jerry Barker was then elected captain by secret ballot, winning 55 votes to 18.

Danny Hunter and Dave Higgins were elected as vice-captains.

The committee were named as: Phil Robinson (chairman), Jerry Barker (captain), Danny Hunter (vice-captain) Dave Higgins (vice-captain), Ian Jeffery (treasurer), Steph Klein, Lyn Goldsmith, John Mulholland, Jen Brown, Colin Percy and Pete Storey, with Dennis Hunter as Head of Fundraising.

Thanks were noted to all club officers.

The meeting concluded at 10:06 pm.